The 11 judges of the Constitutional Court are independent. They cannot be members of Parliament, of the government or of political parties. They are required to be impartial and to uphold justice for all without fear, favour or prejudice. 

Sections 174 to 178 of the Constitution deal with the appointment of judicial officers. First, the Judicial Service Commission draws up a list of candidates that must have three more names than the number of vacancies. The Commission does this after calling for nominations and holding public interviews. 

Then the President, after consultation with the Chief Justice and the leaders of political parties represented in the National Assembly, chooses the judges from this selection. 

The judges ordinarily serve for a non-renewable term of between 12 and 15 years. 

The first judges were appointed in 1994. Read about the selection of the first judges here.
Read about what it is like to be a Constitutional Court Judge.

Shortlisted Candidates for Judicial Appointment October 2023


OCJ Judicial Vacancies


Questionnaire for judges


Questionnaire for candidates for judicial appointment


Media Statement for JSC Criteria


Summary and Explaination of the criteria and guidlines used by JSC:When considering candidates for judicial appoitment


Media release (reminder): Shortlisted candidates for the position of Chairperson of the water tribunal


Judicial Service Commission (JSC) Shortlisted Candidates for October 2022


Annexure 'A' Candidates personal details